By Erik Latkow

The featured alumni  is class of 2009 graduate Ben Behrman. Ben is an account executive at Schafer Condon Carter in Chicago. I had the pleasure of asking him a few questions about what it’s like working at the agency.

Q: What is a typical day like for you?

My day to day work includes the management of all projects open on my account. I oversee all print pieces from magazine ads to retailer collateral as well as every digital project from flash/rich media banners, custom website sponsorships to website production. I work very closely with my creative, studio and digital team to input on new projects, review finished creative pieces and address client updates and changes – always ensuring we are on strategy and on brand. I’m also responsible for all day to day client contact which includes everything from job status updates to client creative presentations. In addition to everything mentioned, I’m also responsible for developing all job estimates for our projects and managing my client’s budget and billing.

Q: What do you like most about working at Schafer Condon Carter?

Schafer Condon Carter has a great culture that is comprised of a great group of people. Not only do I enjoy the people I work with I also enjoy the clients I work for. We’re a growing company and I’m able to grow with it. It doesn’t hurt we have a bar instead of a lobby.

Q: What do you like most about being an account executive?

Being on the account team gives you the opportunity to see all sides of a business. I really enjoy the creative process, however, I’m also fascinated with helping our clients developing a solid strategic marketing plan that will help their business grow. Being an account executive gives you the best of both worlds, it satisfies my creative and business needs.

Q: What has the field of advertising done for you thus far?

I’m only about a year and a half in, so there’s much more to come, however, so far the world of advertising has presented me with a lot of opportunities. I’ve had the chance to grow with my company and develop my core business skills. I’m continuously learning more about consumers, cultures and purchase behavior/intent. Most importantly, it’s given me a job that continuously challenges me and forces me to explore new things that I would have never experienced without this career.

 

Written by Ad Buzz

The American Advertising Federation Illinois Chapter brings to you Ad Buzz, a blog dedicated to all things advertising related, from our favorite campaigns to trends going on in the industry.

One comment

Leave a Reply

