By Catherine Ruschak

Jordan Kull, copy writer for Storandt Pann Margolis Marketing and Communications (SPM), graduated this past May from the Department of Advertising. He dove headfirst into the real world, opting to graduate from the program a year early. Jordan sat down with us at Ad Buzz to share some of his amazing experiences of life after graduation.

Q: Since graduating in May, what have you been doing?

First I did the Rome Study Abroad – great program through the department, I highly recommend it.  From there I interned at SPM, where I started working full-time August 16th.  It’s a mid-size agency, roughly 50 people.

Q: What brands or campaigns have you worked on recently?

SPM specializes in healthcare marketing. We have clients across the country. Mainly we service hospitals and we specialize in finding solutions for academic hospitals.

Within the first week I was thrown into the fire. Somehow I was able to talk my way into the initial planning meetings for a big piece of new business we were pitching that we needed to produce spec work for.  My ads and concepts ended up being picked internally and those ads were the ones that were pitched to the client. They chose our work and have become our biggest client. It was surreal.

Recently, I have written a couple of tv spots that are going to air in Washington D.C. Maybe Obama will see them and immediately ask me to be in his cabinet. I would respectuflly decline, but it would be a great honor. I think it’s a 50-50 shot.

Q: You opted to graduate early. How do you think this has affected your post-school life? How prepared did you feel entering the real world?

I am thankful for the education I received at Illinois. I never stopped learning outside of the classroom. I was able to work part-time in the Advertising office last year and I think this was my best opportunity for learning what it takes to be in advertising.  It has prepared me most for my current job. There were real-world deadlines. I learned so many things from Cinda Cornstubble and Dr. Slater.

Q: Having recently gone through the interview process, what advice would you give to those of us searching for internships and jobs?

It’s tough. Be yourself. Remember, not only are they interviewing you, but you are interviewing them as well. Go somewhere that will give you the best opportunity to grow and produce real work. USE YOUR RESOURCES. Talk with Dr. Slater. Talk with Cinda. Talk to Steve Hall. And if you are creative, talk to Peter [Sheldon]. Use your resources. Also, I’m not one to use the “N” word, but NETWORK. That just means make as many friends as possible and keep in contact with them. Then – don’t be afraid to use these contacts.

 

Written by Ad Buzz

The American Advertising Federation Illinois Chapter brings to you Ad Buzz, a blog dedicated to all things advertising related, from our favorite campaigns to trends going on in the industry.

Leave a Reply

