By: Claudette Reyes

“773-202…LUNA”

This is the jingle that was stuck in my head as I was walking to class this week. I had no idea what this jingle was or where I knew it from.  A few days later, I saw the light and realized the jingle I had been singing was the old Luna Carpet commercial.

I basically had grown up with this commercial and knew the jingle by heart. Isn’t it amazing that a commercial from 10 years ago is still imprinted on my brain? That is the fascinating thing about the media industry. The most surprising commercials will forever be in your head. Advertising has such a great power over us at times. You may not like the product that is being sold but the commercial may be very appealing and fetching.

Advertisers plan this strategically to find ways for consumers to really be engaged in the commercial. Some of the methods are psychological. They will test which colors, sounds and objects are the most appealing so that in the future consumers can associate it with the product.

The jingle to the Luna commercial is very imploring that when I hear it I automatically think Luna. So word of advice, if you’re going to get a commercial stuck in your head, make it Luna.

Written by Ad Buzz

The American Advertising Federation Illinois Chapter brings to you Ad Buzz, a blog dedicated to all things advertising related, from our favorite campaigns to trends going on in the industry.

Leave a Reply

